Answered

Show single posts with the excerpt and a call to action

Hi I am wondering how I can change the default behaviour of MM to display a single post page (rather than redirect to the error page) regardless of access rights, and lock down certain aspects of the page if the user doesn't actually have access. I would like to display the feature image, the excerpt and some meta data to everyone, but the bulk of the article will be behind a paywall - a call to action displayed to anyone who doesn't have access. (to log in or buy a membership).

I'm assuming filters and actions will be the key here, but I'm a bit of a novice with this stuff and a newcomer to MM.
Answer Hi David. We're working on doing a very similar thing. To accomplish this we have done the following:

1. Protect the content via MemberMouse's interface

2. In your theme's functions.php put this function. It tells MM to show the content even when a user does not have access.

function customContentProtection($data)
{
error_log('customContentProtection');
return true;
}
add_filter('mm_bypass_content_protection', 'customContentProtection');

3. Then again in functions.php use Wordpress's the_content filter to only show an excerpt of your content when the current user does not have access to the post. Like so:

add_filter( 'the_content', 'my_the_content_filter' );
function my_the_content_filter( $content ) {
global $post;

if ( !is_singular() )
return $content;

$new_content = $content;

/* only show an excerpt if the member doesn't actually have access to this */
if ( mm_access_decision(array("access"=>"true")) != true ) {
$new_content = $post->post_excerpt; // whatever you want the user to see instead seeing the whole post
}

return $new_content;
}
Hi Seth, I tried the code you provided and it does not work on my installation. When I try this I get a blank page when looking at the page as a non-member. (closer than an error page, but still not the effect we are going for here.)