Answered

Tips for driving signups of free accounts to paid?

Hi MM Community -

I'm relatively new to running a membership service. So far my guitar lesson site -- http://www.strumschool.com -- has been pretty successful in getting people to signup for our basic membership (which is free). We've been getting 15-30 signups/day consistently for our first few weeks.

That said, we haven't had much luck converting our Basic members into Premium Members ($19/mo or $99/year).

My assumption is that we are either not making it clear why users should upgrade or we are giving too much content away, so people don't have a big enough incentive to pay for the rest of our content.

Anyone have advice on how to better incentivize users to start paying instead of just taking the freebies?

Thanks,

-b
First, be patient. When we launched many years ago we had 300+ free subscribers to our industry-specific newsletter. We were cranking out a lot of great content each day. When we announced it would no longer be free and that the price would be $25 a month we lost 275 subscribers in our first month. But each month we grew a bit.

Also, be sure what you're selling is better than what's free. I know zip about guitars or instruments but if I were thinking of learning to play my first thought would be YouTube. So, what do you offer that YouTube creators don't?

On that note, are you putting some stuff on YouTube? It is, after all, the #2 search engine. Create a channel that builds credibility and trust and then give them a reason to visit your site and sign up.
Answer Hey Ben,
My biggest impression with your site is that you aren't really setting the expectation that "premium content = paid" anywhere.

Your home page is only pushing the Free membership.
Your home page slider for your "Main Features" has buttons that don't work.

My advice is this:
1.) Get rid of the sign-up form for the Free membership in your header. Instead, replace it with a button "Sign Up Here"